The Sursock Museum was reopened in October 2015, after a renovation of the building and gardens by Willmotte & Associés.
The neo-Moorish architecture of the museum has been retained, but a new basement has been dug out to accommodate an auditorium, library, and further exhibition spaces. The 8,500-square-metre museum was bequeathed by the businessman Nicolas Ibrahim Sursock, in 1951, to showcase local and international artists.
Among the many Lebanese artists represented in the museum's 5,000-work collection are Shafic Abboud, Etel Adnan, Assadour, Daoud Corm and Paul Guiragossian.
Greek Orthodox Archbishopric Street
Ashrafieh 2071 5509
+961 (0)1 20 20 01